Ministry Of Gender To Swear In New UNCC Board Members.


A few weeks ago cabinet approved board of trustees for Uganda National Cultural Centre (UNCC).

The prominent figures endorsed include Prof. Okaka Opio as the Chairperson, and other members include Bugingo Hannington, Lilian Mbabazi, Phina Mugerwa Masanyalaze, Richard Komakech, Joseph Mayanja (Dr. Jose Chameleone), Moses Ssali (Bebe Cool) and Juliana Naumo.

The Ministry of Gender, Labor and Social Development (MoGLSD) under the supervision of Hon. Betty Amongi, along with State Minister for Gender and Culture, Hon. Peace Regis Mutuuzo and UNCC Executive Director Francis Peter Ojede, are set to officiate at the swearing-in ceremony for the newly appointed Board members scheduled for next week.

About UNCC:

Uganda National Cultural Centre, whose acronym is UNCC, is a semi-autonomous body under the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development established on 8th October, 1959 by the UNCC Act 1959 Act of Parliament (Amended 1965).

UNCC was officially inaugurated on 2 nd December, 1959. Uganda National Cultural Centre is home to the National Theatre and the National Art Gallery (Nommo Gallery). The two constituent departments are mandated with the development and promotion of the performing arts, literary and visual arts in Uganda.


However, as the nation strives to rejuvenate the arts and culture sector, critics point fingers at UNCC, accusing it of sluggishness and stagnation, hindering progress in the field of arts.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here