Pearlwood Holds 1st Annual General Meeting, Elects New Leaders


On Wednesday 22 June, Pearlwood, a Ugandan umbrella organization of Filmmakers in various guilds held its first ever Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The organisation with a membership of 53 film producers, 125 actors, 72 Bibanda owners / Owners and 415 Distributors held its AGM at the National Theatre. The meeting kickstarted with election of new leaders for the various guilds that make up Pearlwood.

IMG 20220623 WA0013
Some of the New leaders of the Pearlwood Guilds

These guilds are housed under Association of Film Actor Uganda Limited, Association of Audio & Visual Distributors Limited, Association of Cinematographic Exhibitors Limited and Association of Core Film Producers Uganda Limited for Actors, Distributors, Exhibitors and Producers respectively.

The new leaders elected to office are as followers follows,

20220623 192155

The new leaders elected will lead their members for the next three years term. Shortly after being declared winner,  Film Producers President elect Aisha Namatovu took to her twitter platform to thank the members for voting her to be their leader.


Speaking to the newly elected leaders, Mzee Julius Bwanika, the Executive Secretary of PearlWood had this to say,

“Ensure that you never loose your Integrity, be dependable & always focus to serve with Impact. Let us build an institution big enough to take care of not only us, but even a generation to follow”

After the Elections, the meeting went ahead with highlights of the outstanding activities reached upon, shortcomings, action points, Recommendations and lots of appreciations.

IMG 20220623 WA0025
Mzee Bwanika, Executive Secretary – Pearlwood

With the election of new leadership for the Pearlwood composition, what remains now is election of the Pearlwood Board of Directors and the other respective offices. These are set to happen 60 days away from the guild elections during their Delegates conference.

Currently, the Pearlwood Board of Directors has Mzee Bwanika Julius as Executive Secretary with Lutakome Tony, Solomon Nsubuga, Ruth Kurt Avalon, Ssebanyiga Moses, Keweesa Samuel and Kizito Tabula as Board members.

IMG 20220623 WA0016
Ms Juliana Naumo delivering her speech during the AGM

The AGM had Ms Juliana Naumo, the Director of Gender and Community Development at the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development as the chief guest. Also in attendance were industry members and stakeholders from Uganda Registrations Services Bureau, Uganda National Cultural Centre, National Culture Forum, Operation Wealth Creation among many others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here