Northern Artist of the Year 2022: Full List Of Winners

Polite Mosko

Polite Mosko was crowned the Northern Uganda Artist of the Year in the MTN-sponsored 2022 Northern Uganda Music Awards (NUMA) held Sunday evening at Pece Stadium in Gulu City.

As the biggest supporter of Uganda’s music, MTN Uganda supported the NUMA awards based on its vision of creating shared value across the communities within which it operates.

The NUMA awards are the Northern region’s oldest and biggest annual musical event that aims at promoting and rewarding both established and upcoming musicians, inspiring change through the power of their voice.

The 2022 NUMA awards ceremony was a night of a unique lineup of artists and actors ranging from traditional dance performances, urban music genres like Hiphop, Reggae, Gospel and Dance Hall music.

At the end of the night, 25 artistes walked away with awards and prizes including a record deal with Uganda’s top producers for the top 4 categories courtesy of MTN Uganda.

The four winners who secured music recording deals include; Polite Mosko, the overall artist of the year, Eddy Wizzy, male artist of the year, Jeneth Prischa, female artist of the year and Mixola as the new artist of the year categories.

Female artist of the year Jeneth Prischa is congratulated for emerging as the winner 1
Female artist of the year Jeneth Prischa is congratulated for emerging as the winner.

The award ceremony was attended by NRM General Secretary, Richard Todwong, Gulu City Woman MP, Betty Aol Ocan, and the Acholi Paramount Chief Rwot David Onen Acana II among others.

Juma Muhammed Okot, the NUMA founder hailed MTN for supporting the music talent in Northern Uganda. “The NUMA event remains the oldest and best musical event in the region. We are indeed happy to have MTN walk this journey with us by supporting us with not only organizing the awards but also offering recording deals to our stars. We look forward to working with MTN to further nurture and promote the immense music talent in Northern Uganda,” Okot said.

Commenting about the awards, Aggrey Byaruhanga, the MTN Uganda Northern Region Business Manager said that MTN has over the years strongly supported Ugandan music artistes and commits to continue doing the same as a way of rewarding and nurturing music talent in the country.

“On behalf of MTN Uganda, we congratulate all the winners of the NUMA. MTN is happy to celebrate the great music and entertainment talent in our country. As promised, the top 4 winners will record their next songs with the country’s top producers of their choice, courtesy of MTN,” Byaruhanga said.

According to Patrick Ssebadduka, the NUMA awards coordinator, the registration started on Thursday 08th December 2022 with artists picking registration forms from different radio stations in Northern Uganda as well as online registration. The Nominees were selected through regular radio calling programs across all the radio stations in the region and confirmed by the committee in charge of the final selection.

This was followed by a multi-layered judging process by renowned music critics who go on to assess the impact, technical quality, uniqueness and style of these selected songs in respective categories.

Full list of winners below.
1-The Overall Artist Of The Year.
•Pato Lover Boy
✓•Polite mosko – Winner 
•Eddy Wizzy
2-The Male Artist Of The Year.
✓•Eddy Wizzy – Winner 
•Pato Loverboy
•Polite Mosko
•Laxzy movers

3-The Female Artist Of The Year.
✓•Jeneth Prischa – Winner 
•Pretty B
•Lady Nita
•Jenesta Beibe

4-Best Female of the year first runner up Adong Music
5-The Gospel Song Of The Year.
•Rwot gwoka – Peggy Nighty
•Wan Luker – Jally Mildred
•Mar pa yecu – Eunice Da Glory
•Kica ni dit ikuma – Ogenrwot Martine
•Tim gin Manyen – Ronnie da Saga
✓•Kiddy Face – gen putye – Winner*
•Mudukuna aye – Labert Dickson & Prossy Angel
•Polo gang Deyo – Pa mungu
6-The Reggae Artiste Of The Year. 
✓•Allan Smokie – Winner*
•Mighty Aaron 
•Ruba Shanon
•Patz Culture
•Davi Dogo 
7-The Dancehall Artist Of The Year.
•Striker Tresino
•Pato LoverBoy
•Bledy Miles
✓•Polite Mosko – WInner
8-The Afrobeat Artist Of The Year.
✓•Pato LoverBoy – Winner*
•Foxy Boy
•Pretty B
•Mighty Aaron 
•Laxzy Mover 
9-The New Artist Of The Year. 
✓•Mixola – Winner*
•Dizzy gyal
•Mighty Daga
•Lady Nita
•Avie Ug
•GMS da Younger
•Exaa Rapking
10-Breakthrough Artist Of The Year.
✓•Bledy Miles – Winner*
•Mighty Daga
•Keizy Bozzman Taliban
•Young Dallas
•Steve jay Omar
•Lala Consias
11-The RnB Artist Of The Year.
•Clex B
✓•Laxzy Mover – Winner*
12-The Hip-Hop Artist Of The Year.
✓•Winnie BK – Winner*
•Ken lee
•Dizzy Gyal
13-Lakubukubu Song Of The Year.
✓•Kodi pa Lyeci – Oj Murugut – Winner*
•Pe Ipim Wiya – Jeneth Prischa
•Ani – Kay Dada 
•Obalo Gee – Ocici
14-The Collabo Of The Year.
•Aling – Eddy Wizzy ft Pato LoverBoy
✓•Pagurup – Bledy Miles & Mixola – Winner”
•Nga ma pengeyo – Adong Eddy & Eddy Wizzy
•Kono – Laxzy Mover ft Eezzy
•Yenge – Young Dallas & Polite Mosko
•Bed Hard I Number Ni – GMS da Younger ft Eezzy
•Biku Lubik – Polite Mosko & Rakas Topa
15-The Most Consistent Artist Of The Year.
•Pato LoverBoy
✓•Pretty B – Winner*
•Laxzy Mover
16-The Comedian Of The Year.
•Bouncer x Lapir
✓•Ojur Kwon – Winner
•Mc Ever Dee
•Banana Joe
17-The Mc Of The Year.
•Mc Young Moni
✓•Mc Lucky – Winner*
•MC Kwass
•Mc Makofi
18-Producer Of The Year 
✓•Giddy Beats – Winner*
•Klint Pro
•Powel Elyas
•Kiddy Face
•Pro C-vow
19-The DJ Of The Year.
✓•Dj Joel Fresh – Winner*
•Dj Frisco
•Dj Crazy Mind 
•Dj RedCard
•Dj Zero Douglass

20-The Promoter Of The Year/Online influencer of the year.
•Gavin Lapoti
✓•Jacob Spragga – Winner*
•Okona Kodi
•Northern Buzz
•Gulu scoops
Into Deep Promotionz

21-The Radio Personality Of The Year.
22-Music video of the year.
✓•Teng Mot – Mighty Aaron 

And Other acts were recognized for their hard work and for the big role played in the music industry.

Special Recognition Award for Best Online influencer – LuoTunes.
Legendary Special Recognition  – Tam Noffy
Special Recognition – Eddy Current 
Special Recognition  – BSG Labongo.

Special Recognition – Pamela Peace.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here